Home » Breaking News » NPP elects flagbearer today

NPP elects flagbearer today

Over 200,000 delegates of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) across all 275 constituencies in the country are voting today to elect a presidential candidate to represent the party in the 2024 general elections.

Ten members, including an incumbent MP, the Vice President, former ministers, and MPs, declared their intention to represent the party but were reduced to five by an August 26 Super Delegates Conference.

Vice President Mahamudu Bawumia secured 629 votes, representing 68.15 percent of the total votes cast in the Super Delegates Conference to emerge as the winner, with the Member of Parliament for Assin Central, Kennedy Agyapong coming in second, and former Trade and Industry Minister, Alan Kyerematen occupying the third position.

Not satisfied with the outcome of the Super Delegates Conference and raising concerns over unfair treatment from the leadership of the NPP, Alan Kyerematen resigned from the party to form the Movement for Change to contest the 2024 general elections as an independent candidate.

A tie between Boakye Agyarko and Francis Addai-Nimoh was needed to get the fifth aspirant, but the former pulled out of a scheduled September 2 run-off.

A total of 203,439 delegates are expected to participate in the election, with 436 delegates voting at the head office of the party at Asylum Down, Accra.

In the Ashanti Region, 34,987 delegates will vote, whereas 4,204 delegates will vote in the Ahafo Region. 39,134 delegates will vote in the Greater Accra Region. Volta has a delegate number of 11,995.

Voting centers have also been commissioned in all 275 constituencies in the country.

Today’s contest is between the MP for Assin Central, Kennedy Ohene Agyapong, the Vice President, Dr. Mahamudu Bawumia, former Agric Minister, Dr. Owusu Akoto Afriyie, and former MP for Mampong, Francis Addai-Nimoh.

In a step to prevent resignations emanating from the poll, all four aspirants signed an undertaking on Thursday, October 2, not to resign from the party if any of them loses the primary.



Check Also

Use natural resource wealth to address poverty, inequality in Nigeria- ISODEC

The Executive Director of the Integrated Social Development Centre ( ISODEC), Mr Sam Salifu Danse ...